The LARIA Research Impact Awards recognise the impact of research as a local level and showcase the very best work of our members. The winners are announced on the first day of the LARIA Conference at our awards dinner in April/May each year.

The nomination process for the 2018 awards closed on Monday 12th February. We will be announcing the shortlist soon.

Best use of local area research

Best use of social care or health research

Most engaging presentation of local area research

Best use of community safety or policing research

Best community engagement/consultation

Best use of public data

New researcher of the year

  • 2017: Izabella Wojciechowski – Breaking Blue
  • 2016: Sarah Thurgood – Kirklees Council
  • 2015: Zonni Auburn – Cambridgeshire County Council
  • 2014: Heather Walmsley – Lancashire County Council
  • 2013: Oliver Hopwood – ESRO

LARIA volunteer of the year

  • 2017: Deana Leadbeater
  • 2016: Coryn Barclay
  • 2015: Alison Monkhouse
  • 2014: Linda Frost
  • 2013: Richard Potter

Excellence in Research

  • 2010: Bristol City Council – Adventures in crowd-sourcing
  • 2009: Birmingham City Council & Professor John Thornes, University of Birmingham – Tackling Climate Change
  • 2008: Cambridgeshire County Council – SOS – Save our Stores: using research and information to protect post offices from closure.
  • 2007: Borough of Poole – Child-centred approach to analysing children’s and young people’s needs
  • 2006: Wakefield Council – Mystery Shopping Programme
  • 2005: Pendle Borough Council – Measuring and Understanding Community Cohesion – a holistic approach
  • 2004: Cheshire County Council – Anti-Bullying Project in Cheshire Schools

Shortlists and winners by year